File File Photo

Who's running for mayor and council in the rest of Windsor-Essex?

Second of a three-part series.

On Monday, Windsor-Essex voters will choose their mayors, councillors and school board trustees for the next four years. has compiled a series listing all the candidates that will appear on the Monday ballot, to help listeners and readers make informed decisions on who to support.

All candidates listed are on the ballot according to their official municipalities' websites.

In part one, published on Saturday, took an updated look at the candidates for the City of Windsor, as well as Amherstburg, Essex, and Kingsville. The conclusion of the series, online for Election Day on Monday, will focus on school board hopefuls.


Tom Bain, who has been mayor since 2006, wants another four years. He is facing a challenge from Deputy Mayor Tracey Bailey.

For the open deputy mayor's position, Ward 5 councillor Kirk Walstedt wants a promotion, along with former councillor Dave Monk.

There will be an abundance of new faces on council with four seats open. Ward 1 incumbent Steven Wilder is not standing for re-election, with Nick Panasiuk and Ryan McNamara wanting to succeed him.

There will also be a new councillor in Ward 2 with Len Janisse not seeking another term. Running to take his place are Michael Hoffman and Paddy Byrne.

In Ward 3, incumbent Kelsey Santarossa will face Giovanni Butera and Mohamed Seddik.

John Kerr wants another four years in Ward 4, with Sarah Aubin and Jennifer Alderson running.

The open Ward 5 seat is being sought by Steve Anhorn, Tim McDermott, and Ian Ruston.

Linda McKinlay in Ward 6 will not run again. Three candidates had filed to succeed her, David Cecile, David Larue, and Larissa Vogler. Larue, however, had asked to withdraw his candidacy, but the request came after the August deadline.


Mayor Marc Bondy has decided that one term is enough, so Crystal Meloche will be the next mayor. She was the only candidate to file for the office and will be acclaimed.

Taking the open deputy mayor seat is at-large councillor Michael Akpata, who is also unopposed.

All four of the remaining incumbent councillors are looking for re-election. They are Sue Desjarlais, Jeffrey Renaud, Mark Carrick, and Anita Riccio-Spagnuolo.

Seven challengers are in the mix, among them former councillor Terry Burns, Manpreet Brar, Brian Kovacsi, Bred Krewench, David Lucier, Christopher Matis, and Kevin O'Neil.


Incumbent Hilda MacDonald is running for a second term. Cris Bison and Jeremy Simoni are also running for mayor.

Deputy Mayor Larry Verbeke is seeking reelection against Shelly Quick and John Toffelmire.

Four out of the five incumbent councillors have filed for another four years, Bill Dunn, Heather Latam, Paul Tiessen, and Tom Wilkinson. John Hammond did not declare for reelection.

There are 12 challengers seeking a spot on the council dais. Anthony Abraham, Tara Adams, Gerald Barros, Derek Friesen, Christine Lehn, Dave Metcalfe, Christine Montgomery, Oscar Ramirez, Corey Robertson, Isaac Schmitt, Kyle Sousa and Mark Stevenson are on the ballot.

Pelee Island

There will be a new mayor in Pelee Island after this election. Raymond Durocher did not file after one term in office. Larry Bailey and Cathy Miller are running to take his place.

Deputy Mayor David Dawson is not running again.

Five people are up for the four positions on council, with a deputy mayor to be chosen from them. The incumbents who want to return are David DeLillis, Dayne Malloch, and Sherri Ouellette-Smith. Stephanie Briggs-Crawford and Michelle Taylor also want a place.


Gary McNamara will be Windsor-Essex's longest-serving active mayor. First elected in 2003, McNamara is unopposed for the second election in a row.

Deputy Mayor Joe Bachetti will have another four years after being acclaimed.

Ward 1 will have a new representative after Andrew Dowie's departure upon election as the Windsor-Tecumseh MPP. English public school board chairperson Alicia Higgison is running against Daniel Hofgartner. Interim councillor Doug Pitre, the retired Tecumseh fire chief, is not a candidate.

There will also be a new councillor for Ward 2, as Bill Altenhof is standing down. Running to succeed him are Antoni Tambunun and James Dorner.

In Ward 3, first-term incumbent Rick Tonial is running, challenged by Alex Ilijoski.

In Ward 4, incumbent Brian Houston is acclaimed. Ward 5's Tania Jobin is being challenged for another term by Michael Strong. will be on-air and online Monday night with election coverage.  The entire news team will be collecting and analyzing results for the web and social media. In addition, election updates will run beginning at 8 p.m. Monday on Mix 96.7FM and Windsor's Country 95.9.

Read More Local Stories