Courtesy Association of Municipalities Ontario (AMO) website.Courtesy Association of Municipalities Ontario (AMO) website.

Who's running for the school boards serving Windsor-Essex?

Third of a three-part series

Windsor-Essex will choose Monday who will represent them at the municipal level for the next four years.

Along with local candidates for mayor and council, voters will also be asked Monday to choose their representatives on the four public school boards serving the region.

On Saturday, published a summary of candidates running in Windsor, Amherstburg, Essex, and Kingsville. Those running in Lakeshore, LaSalle, Leamington, Pelee Island, and Tecumseh were summarized on Sunday. To conclude the series, this installment focuses on school board candidates.

This list was originally compiled when nominations closed in August. All listed candidates have been certified.

Greater Essex County District School Board

GECDSB chairperson Alicia Higgison is giving up her seat as the trustee for Tecumseh and Lakeshore to run for the Ward 1 seat on Tecumseh Town Council. Connie Lynn Buckler, who lost to Higgison in 2018, wants her old seat back. Chris Lanman is the other contestant for the seat.

Incumbent trustee Linda Qin, who represents Windsor Wards 1, 2, and 9; will seek a second term against challengers Fazle Baki, Maria Fernandes, former board chairperson Kim McKinley, and Malek Mekawi. The other trustee for this area of Windsor, Jessica Sartori, is not running again.

In Windsor Wards 3, 4, and 10; Sarah Cipkar is running for another four-year term, but there is an open seat as Alan Halberstadt is not seeking another term. Cipkar is challenged by Sushil Jain, Christie Nelson, and Margaret A. Stanley.

Cathy Cooke and Gale Simko-Hatfield, the incumbents for Windsor Wards 5, 6, 7, and 8; will seek reelection. Their opponents include Claudette Bernier-Schiller, Genevieve Coritana, AnnMarie Simpson, and Stephanie Slipiec.

Ron LeClair, the unsuccessful NDP candidate for Essex MPP in this year's provincial election, wants another four years representing LaSalle and Amherstburg. His opponent is Geri Salinitri.

In Essex and Kingsville, incumbent Julia Burgess hopes voters will retain her. She is facing Sherry Ducedre and David Keller.

Aimee Omstead is looking for a second term as trustee for Leamington and Pelee Island. She is challenged by Nancy Armstrong.

Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board 

Current WECDSB chairperson Fulvio Valentinis is running for reelection in Windsor Wards 1 and 10. He is facing Sanaa Boales.

There will be a new trustee for Windsor Wards 2 and 9, as incumbent Tony Polifroni won't seek reelection. The two candidates vying to succeed him are Joe Iacono and Shirley-Lyn Watson.

In Windsor Wards 3 and 4, incumbent Bernie Mastromattei wants another term and is running against Rabia Kirma and Eric Renaud, who lost to Mastromattei in 2018.

Fred Alexander, the incumbent for Windsor Wards 5 and 8, is not seeking another four years. Jason Lazarus is acclaimed to take that vacancy.

Also acclaimed to her seat is Windsor Wards 6 and 7 incumbent Kim Bouchard.

In Amherstburg and LaSalle, incumbent Frank Di Tomasso is acclaimed.

In Tecumseh, Mary Heath is trying for another term. Her only opponent is Monica Muscedere.

Lisa Soulliere, the board's vice-chairperson, is running again in Lakeshore. She is being challenged by Cynthia Burk.

For the municipalities of Essex, Kingsville, Leamington, and Pelee Island, incumbent Mary Dimenna will face off against Derek Thachuk.

Conseil Scolaire Catholique Providence 

The French-language Catholic board covers a greater area of southern Ontario, meaning fewer trustees are elected from Windsor-Essex.

Jacques Kenny is acclaimed as the trustee for Windsor Wards 1 and 9, Tecumseh Wards 4 and 5, and all of LaSalle.

In Windsor Wards 2, 3, 4, 5, and 10; incumbent Christian Trudeau is not running again. The two candidates wishing to succeed him are Christine Brooks and Stephane Lucky.

Janine Brydges is acclaimed in Windsor Wards 6, 7, 8, and 9.

Another acclaimed trustee is Pauline Marois, who will represent Tecumseh Wards 1, 2, and 3, and Lakeshore Wards 1 and 2 in the new term.

In Lakeshore Wards 3, 4, and 5, incumbent Jean-Francois Gauthier is not seeking another term. His successor will be Paul Lachance, who is unopposed.

Incumbent Doris Sauve has been acclaimed in Lakeshore Ward 6, Leamington, and Pelee Island.

Didier Marotte, incumbent in Essex, Amherstburg, and Kingsville, has also been acclaimed.

Conseil Scolaire Viamonde

The French public board elects only one representative from Windsor-Essex. Incumbent Guillaume Teasdale is not looking at another term.

There are four candidates who have filed to take the seat. They are Serge Dinard, Owen Herold, Badrieh Kojok, and Emmanuelle Richez.

Comprehensive online and on-air coverage of the 2022 municipal election results is set for Monday evening. will have reporters stationed all over the region to provide the latest results on social media.

On-air updates will begin at 8 p.m. on Mix 96.7 and Windsor's Country 95.9.

Read More Local Stories